Captain America: Winter Soldier Review

Marvel definitely knows what they are doing with their franchises (Unlike DC). Have you seen the trailers to the new X-men or Guardians of the Galaxy? Those films look insane! I would be straight up lying if I told you, these Marvel films didn’t intrigue me.

There is no denying that Captain America: Winter Soldier looks greats and sounds great! The graphics and overall cinematography are top notch in Winter Soldier. I felt Chris Evans truly embraced the character for the first time, he made me believe that he was and is Captain America from here on out. The addition of Falcon was a nice touch that didn’t feel forced or unwarranted. Robert Redford was a great addition to the film, as well as Scarlett Johansson’s character Black Widow. Clearly the producers of this film gave it more love and time than the previous Captain America film. This film might as well have been called Avengers 1.5 with the amount of explosions and high profile stunts done throughout the film. The budget was there, the acting was there, but I still felt like Winter Soldier left me wanting more after the credits rolled.FREEZER_BURN

After Avengers came out in 2012 I felt like Marvel decided to jump the shark a tad early. I absolutely love everything about the Avengers film, it’s funny, has great action and the story seemed somewhat believable. But ever since then, I can’t help but think, what is the point of doing stand-alone Marvel superhero movies? We have established that all of these characters:Thor, Hulk, Iron Man, Captain America, Black Widow and Hawkeye are all in the same “World”. So why aren’t they just in one film all the time? Rhetorical question- (I know, I know, money of course)

The Avengers concept art ComicCon

Now I understand that these stand-alone movies make boatloads of money. Let me re-iterate, these movies make so much money! Captain America: Winter Soldier is set to break all sorts of records in the month of April and will surpass the previous Captain America film in just two weeks of it’s release. In it’s first weekend alone, it made over $95 million in the U.S. and $304.1 million worldwide. So I get why Marvel continues to do this and I’m sure if I were the head of those properties I would do the exact same thing. But I can’t be the only person who thinks that once you have established that Iron Man can fly in at any moment during the Avengers and save the day, but he wouldn’t do that same thing in these other films? This idea that they are just not involved in these cataclysmic world battles post Avengers makes you scratch your head a little. Every time there was a moment in Winter Soldier where our hero was about to die, I found myself just thinking “why wouldn’t Thor or Hulk just run in and help out?” it’s not as if they are on vacation or don’t have televisions to watch the mass destruction.

Now please don’t read this review as an attack on Marvel or the movies themselves. I’m not some fanboy who wrote this review to tear down somebody else’s work. I find all of these movies to be quite enjoyable and don’t feel any remorse spending money to go see them. I just feel like there is some definite plot holes in the over-arching story that makes me a little less inclined to see each stand-alone movie that comes out in the future. So should you see Captain America: Winter Soldier? Sure, I think it warrants spending the money to go see it and if you already dig these superhero movies then I’m almost certain you will enjoy it. It has also come to the point where you need to see all the stand alone movies in order, for the Avengers movies to make sense because it is one continuous story.

 

Solid 8 out 10

Written by Trevor Cannon

 

 

Leave a Reply

